Alicia Bogart Kalvin
Studio Teacher 
Baby Wrangler
Child Welfare

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Your Subtitle text
Working Hours for Minors
Work Day:
A minor may work between the hours of 5:00 am & 10:00 pm on nights preceding school days or 5:00 am & 12:30 am on nights preceding non-school days. Exception: With 48 hour advance written approval from the DLSE minors age 8-18 may continue a performance starting before 10:00 pm up to 12:00 am preceding a school day. Turnaround rule must be observed.

Age Max Work Time Education Rest & Recreation Meal Period Total Time At Location
15 Days to 5+ months 20 min (Max 100 ft. candle light, 30 sec. exposure) 1/2 hour 2 1/2 hours
6 mo to 1 + yrs 2 hours 0 2 hours 1/2 hour 4 1/2 hours
2 yrs to 5+ yrs 3 hours (3 hours Education and R & R) 1/2 hour 6 1/2 hours
6 yrs to 8+ yrs 4 hours 3 hours 1 hour 1/2 hour 8 1/2 hours
Non-school days 6 hours 0 1 hour 1/2 hour 8 1/2 hours
9 yrs to 15+ yrs 5 hours 3 hours 1 hour 1/2 hour 9 1/2 hours
Non-school days 7 hours 0 1 hour 1/2 hour 9 1/2 hours
16 yrs to 17+ yrs 6 hours 3 hours 1 hour 1/2 hour 10 1/2hours
Non-school days 8 hours 0 1 hour 1/2 hour 10 1/2hours

Work Permit:
California employment labor law states minors must have an Entertainment Work Permit and employers a Permit to Employ Minors form issued by the DLSE. Blanket permits may be issued for large groups of minors working for a limited period of time. Permits to employ may be denied, revoked or suspended for any violation of the California employment labor law, including discrimination against a studio teacher for performing authorized duties.